Vuelta A Espana Stage 20 Results: Chris Froome wins La Vuelta

Alberto Contador won the 20th stage after a heroic display of climbing, but Chris Froome captured the Vuelta a Espana title after finishing well.

Froome stayed with the plan by pushing it strong in the last five km of the stage to finish third in the stage.

Stage 20 of La Vuelta is the deciding stage of who will win this year’s tour. While Chris Froome has a bigger lead over his nearest rival than what he had in Tour de France at this same scenario, Froome is vulnerable in Vuelta Espana. Froome’s weakness was exposed in some of mountaintop finish stages where he lost time against his rivals.

With 1 minute and 37 seconds over Vincenzo Nibali, Froome will have to rely on his teams to help him tame all the attacks in Saturday’s stage which the it ends on the ascent to De Li’Angliru. Stage 20 consists of 117.5km but the final climb is about 12.5km long at 9.8 percent gradient that could eventually be the battle for all the riders fighting for the podium.

While the stage is just short, the cyclists start in climing the Alto de la Cobertoria with 8.1 km lenght and an average gradient of 8.6%. It would be interesting to know how the contenders will start attacking Froome at this early part of the stage.

Nibali will likely not be waiting at the final climb to attack and he will try to dislodge Froome as early as possible. Alberto Contador is one of the cyclists to watch in this stage for he is expected to do his best to end his cycling career in the big tour like this. Contador is currently in the fifth place ofthe GC overall standings with 3’33”. Wilco Kelderman and Zakarin Ilnur are just separated by 12 seconds for the third and fourth place respectively. Ilnur is 2’17” behind Froome.

For all the contenders to have a chance to beat Froome, they should be attacking early to isolate Froome from his teammates. If Froome has no teammates with him in the final climb, that’s the opportunity for Nibali and other contenders to attack and to separate.

Will Froome be able to win the Vuelta a Espana 2017? Vuelta A Espana tv channel is on Eurosport. Results and updates will be available here.

Stage 20 results

1. CONTADOR A. TFS 03h 31′ 33”
2. POELS W. SKY 00′ 17”
3. FROOME C. SKY 00′ 17”
4. ZAKARIN I. KAT 00′ 35”
5. PELLIZOTTI F. TBM 00′ 51”
6. NIBALI V. TBM 00′ 51”


Overall standings after stage 20

1. GBRFROOME Christopher 21 TEAM SKY 79h 23′ 37”
2. ITANIBALI Vincenzo 151 BAHRAIN – MERIDA 79h 25′ 52” + 02′ 15”
3. RUSZAKARIN Ilnur 101 TEAM KATUSHA ALPECIN 79h 26′ 28” + 02′ 51”
4. ESPCONTADOR Alberto 1 TREK – SEGAFREDO 79h 26′ 48” + 03′ 11”
5. NEDKELDERMAN Wilco 61 TEAM SUNWEB 79h 26′ 52” + 03′ 15”
6. NEDPOELS Wout 27 TEAM SKY 79h 30′ 22” + 06′ 45”
8. COLLOPEZ MORENO Miguel Angel 136 ASTANA PRO TEAM 79h 32′ 36” + 08′ 59”
9. NEDKRUIJSWIJK Steven 111 TEAM LOTTO NL – JUMBO 79h 34′ 41” + 11′ 04”
10. USAVAN GARDEREN Tejay 38 BMC RACING TEAM 79h 39′ 13” + 15′ 36”